Throughout the Ages

18 11 2007

Tomorrow is my birthday (holla!) and although I already feel like it has come and passed, I wanted to post a few interesting facts about November 19th.  On my birthday, throughout the ages, the following notable events have occurred:

• 461 – St. Hilarious becomes Pope.
• 1863 – Abraham Lincoln delivers the Gettysburg Address
(In honor of my husband’s love of soccer) 1969 – Pelé scores his 1000th goal.
(In honor of the enormous amount of student loans I have accrued during my legal education) 1985 – Pennzoil wins a $10.53 billion verdict against Texaco, in the largest civil verdict in U.S. history, stemming from Texaco’s establishing a signed contract to buy Getty Oil after Pennzoil had entered into an unsigned, yet still binding, buyout contract with Getty.
• 1990 – Pop group Milli Vanilli are stripped of their Grammy Award because the duo did not sing at all on the Girl You Know It’s True album.
• 1997 – In Des Moines, Iowa, Bobbi McCaughey gives birth to septuplets in the second known case where all seven babies were born alive. They would go on to become the first set of septuplets to survive infancy, with all seven alive in 2007.
• 1998 – The United States House of Representatives Judiciary Committee begins impeachment hearings against US President Bill Clinton.

Today is also the birth date of the following notable persons:

• 1831 – James A. Garfield
• 1917 – Indira Gandhi
• 1933 – Larry King
• 1935 – Jack Welch
• 1938 – Ted Turner
• 1942 – Calvin Klein
• 1949 – Ahmad Rashad
• 1956 – Ann Curry
• 1959 – Allison Janney
• 1961 – Meg Ryan
• 1962 – Jodie Foster
• 1966 – Gail Devers
• 1966 – Rocco DiSpirito

And in 1978, I graced this world with my presence.  So, happy birthday to me . . . and to any other November 19ers out there.  You’re in good company!


Actions

Information

2 responses

19 11 2007
Katy

Happy Birthday to you, Happy Birthday to you, Happy Birthday dear Ashley, Happy Birthday to you. Pope Hilarious? Did I read that right? Awesome.

19 11 2007
blawgirl

Yep, that’s right – Hilarious. That is funny, hilarious even!

Leave a comment