Rearranged

28 05 2008

About two weeks ago Dave and I decided to rearrange our house. I’m not talking about rearranging the furniture in one room … I mean we completely revamped our home. We moved our bedroom from the attic to the basement, we moved Meredith’s room from the main floor to the attic and her playroom from the basement to the attic. We moved the guest room into Meredith’s old room (it stayed on the same level!) and we moved the family room into the old guest room – Dave really wanted to be able to sit on the reclining couch (which didn’t fit in the basement where the family room originally was). All of this involved rearranging the “formal” family room upstairs because we stole furniture from that room. I felt like we moved all over again.

The next weekend, we painted the guest room a neutral “Barrister White” (it had previously been painted pink and purple and Meredith loved it). Okay, okay, I can admit it – I bought the paint color because of the name … mostly. On that front, I’m still trying to figure out my place in the legal world (and I’m close), but more on that later.

This past weekend, I decided I didn’t like the family room being upstairs, so we rearranged again! We moved the family room back downstairs and moved the office from the basement to the main level. SO MUCH BETTER! The office is no longer in a corner of the basement, but in its own room with a desk that fits both of our needs and a great little seating combo AND, of course, a TV. It is fabulous and I love it and I can’t wait to work from home.

Speaking of work … I’m not going to make it a habit of writing about my professional life on this blog, because, well, I’m smarter than that. But, because it fits into the topic, I’ll mention it. I’m rearranging on the professional front as well. To begin with, when I pictured myself as an attorney, I had a very (I think) old-fashioned view of where I wanted to be, what it would look like and what it would feel like. I am now an attorney and I’m still trying to figure out what that means for me.

I took a job initially back in December and it was not at all what I pictured when I saw myself as an attorney. In short, I left (against my heart’s advice) and took a job in a firm which I thought was more like what I was looking for in my career. Two short months later, it turned out not to be and I’m heading back to my first job. Finicky, maybe. Unable to make a decision, definitely not. I know that I want to be happy in my professional life and this decision will help bring that to realization. I realized that what I had in the beginning was a fabulous opportunity to be in an environment that is dynamic, smart, progressive and full of people that are really great mentors and fabulous women role models. Let’s just call the past two months my little sabbatical.

I’ve done a lot of rearranging in the past few months, and I’m counting on settling down for a good long while.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment